



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 10, 2024

Contact: David C. Blount Executive Director 434-422-4820

Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions Announces President's Award Winner

View as Webpage



The Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions (VAPDC) has announced **Mr. Aaron Sizemore** as the recipient of its 2024 President's Award. The award was presented at a recent meeting of the Mount Rogers Planning District Commission (MRPDC), where Mr. Sizemore serves as Executive Director. The VAPDC President's Award recognizes an individual who has been involved directly in planning district commission activities and who has contributed significantly to promoting regional planning and VAPDC activities.

Aaron has served as the Executive Director of the MRPDC since 2014, having previously served as an intern and planner. He was the youngest Executive Director to ever be hired by the MRPDC. Aaron also served as town manager for Damascus in Washington County, where among other things, he advocated for the benefits of the Virginia Creeper Trail. He also has served as interim town manager for Glade Spring and Saltville, as well as the interim county administrator for Smyth County. "I consider Aaron a

great asset to the work of Planning District Commissions. His diverse skills, adaptability, positive influence, reliability, and commitment to growth, all have contributed significantly to the success of the MRPDC," said 2023-2024 VAPDC President Lou Ann Wallace in presenting the award. "I am honored to present the VAPDC President's Award to him."

Aaron also has served on the Board of Directors for the Crooked Road and currently serves as an officer on the Board of Directors for Friends of Southwest Virginia. He has been a member of the VAPDC Nominating Committee for the past four years.

Planning District Commissions were enabled by state legislation in1968 and most were established the following year. There are 21 PDCs and Regional Commissions in Virginia made up of elected officials and citizens appointed by local governments. The purpose of Planning District Commissions is to encourage and facilitate regional solutions to problems of area-wide significance. This is done by promoting the efficient development of the physical, social, and economic policies of all districts by assisting local governments to plan for the future. The PDCs of Virginia joined together to create the Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions in 1987 to share best practices and further regionalism across the Commonwealth.

Pictured above L to R: Randy Pennington, Mount Rogers PDC Chair & Vice Chairman, Washington County Board of Supervisors; Aaron Sizemore, Executive Director, Mount Rogers PDC and Lou Ann Wallace, VAPDC Past President

For more information about VAPDC, visit our website by clicking the button below.

Visit the VAPDC website





VAPDC | 869 Lynnhaven Parkway Suite 113, #244 | Virginia Beach, VA 23452 US

<u>Unsubscribe</u> | <u>Update Profile</u> | <u>Constant Contact Data Notice</u>

